Exodus 4 – Go! Do!

What would you do if God spoke to you on a personal level?  How would you respond if God came to you, speaking to you through a burning bush that was never consumed?  MercyMe in their song I can Only Imagine poses these questions;

Surrounded by your glory
What will my heart feel?
Will I dance for you Jesus,
Or in awe of you be still?
Will I stand in your presence,
Or to my knees will I fall?
Will I sing Halelluja,
Will I be able to speak at all?
I can only imagine!

So what does Moses do in this situation?  Well, he says, “What if they will not believe me or listen to what I say?…”  In spite of seeing the Glory of God and coming into His presence, Moses doubts and makes excuses!  Here he is speaking to God, and all he can do is give reasons why he can’t do what God is telling him he will do!  Moses says, “Please, Lord, I have never been eloquent… for I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.”  God’s response?  “Who has made man’s mouth?  Or who makes him mute or deaf or seeing or blind?  Is it not I, the Lord?”

So God comes to Moses in a piece of His glory, and all Moses can do is make excuses?  I’m not surprised that God’s anger burned against him!  I think mine would too.

It’s easy to turn around and be shocked and confused by how Moses could act this way.  It’s easy to blame Moses for his reaction, but don’t we do the same  thing?  Doesn’t God come to us day after day?  Don’t we have the ability to meet and talk with God as a man talks with his friend?  Doesn’t God talk to us daily through His Word, the Bible, and His Holy Spirit?  And how do we respond?  “Oh, those commands don’t apply to me.”  “That’s old testament law and doesn’t apply today.”  “That’s just my imagination / conscience and not God trying to tell me something.”  “If i go and talk to that person about God,  they will just think that i’m a Bible thumper.”  “Oh, I’ll let someone else do that.”  “I know God wants me to love everyone, and tell them that He loves them, but i just don’t like them and i need to show them God’s love before i can tell them.  So i need to wait until his Holy Spirit works in my heart and changes how i feel about them and towards them before i go and talk to them.”

So what are your excuses?  I’ve already told you some of mine.  What excuses and idols are you putting before God as “reasons” why you can’t do what He calls you to do?

Leave a comment

Filed under Application, Bible, Content, Exodus, Old Testament, Person, Purpose, Torah

Leave a Reply

