Exodus 6 – YHWH

I am so glad that I do not have to do God’s work for Him.  I am so glad that all He requires of me is obedience.  I don’t think that i could handle the stress of the work that God does… that certainly is a silly statement isn’t it.  The point is, God was the one who did the work of hardening and softening Pharaoh’s heart.  God is the one who did the miracles in Pharaoh’s presence.  God is the one who fulfilled His promises to the people of Israel.  It wasn’t Moses, it had to be God, Himself.

There have been times in my life where God has told me what He was going to do in my life, and then i have attempted to make it happen on my own.  One guess as to the result… yup!  I failed miserably!  Months later, God did it.  You would think that after that i would learn my lesson.  Nope, i continue trying to do YHWH’s work for Him.

One thing i did want to make sure that i touch on is vs. 2-3 “God spoke further to Moses and said to him, “I am the LORD; and I appeared to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, as God Almighty, but by My name, LORD, I did not make Myself known to them.”  The word LORD is the Hebrew word יהוה which is JHWH / YHWH / JHVH / YHVH.   This includes only consonants.  Traditionally, with vowels this word has been pronounced as Jehovah.  However, as time has gone by, there has been mounting evidence that there is a mix of words here.  It is believed that while the consonants are natural to the word, the vowels are not.  The vowels come from Adonai (אֲדֹנָי) meaning “my lord” making יהוה (YHVH) into יְהֹוָה (Yehovah).  The concept here is that in the 10 commandments YHWH says not to use His name in vain.  As such the priests who would read the law to the people would protect them from using His name in vain by not even saying the revered name of God out loud to them.  So whenever they came to the word YHWH, the priests would say Adonai instead.  As a result, over the millennia the true vowels to the name YHWH were lost.

Some would say that that is not the case, that those vowels are actually the correct vowels for the name, but even with a very limited understanding of the history and tendencies of the Israelite people and the legalism of the Pharisees of Jesus time, i’m much more inclined to go with the vast majority of scholars and say YHWH.

Either way, i find it interesting that YHWH first tells His true name not to Abraham, Isaac, & Israel, but rather to Moses and His people in Egypt.

Leave a comment

Filed under Application, Bible, Content, Exodus, Old Testament, Person, Process, Torah

Leave a Reply

