Matthew – Conclusion

It looks like i got ahead of myself.  I went and did the word cloud before i finished the last post!

I finished the book of Matthew, and i need to give my post-copy impressions.  This is kind of hard for me as i haven’t really noticed a difference in my view and attitude about the book since i did the work.  So there aren’t really any “BIG” new impressions.  I knew going into this that Matthew is a book for the Jews.  It was written to  a Jewish audience in order to make clear the events that occurred and to make a clear case for Jesus, the Christ.  You can see this as you go through Matthew’s gospel.  In the very first chapter you see Jesus genealogy and how He is a clear descendant of David.  Also, throughout the book there have been numerous purposeful reference back to the (O.T.) Scriptures, and especially referring to Jesus fulfilling the prophesies about the coming Messiah / Christ.  But all this i knew ahead of time.  And I really wanted to get a new impression after having finished this book.

Although, the more i process all of this, and the more I think about it, the more i do have a bit of a different outlook on it.  One thing that i have liked about posting about Matthew has been the chapter titles.  I really put a lot of thought into my chapter / section titles, and it can be pretty frustrating when i just can’t find the right descriptor that communicates about not just one section of the chapter, but the whole thing.  The nice thing about Matthew, is that the author kept everything neat and clean.  At the same time that Matthew talks about Jesus healing the blind man so he can see, you also get Jesus reprimanding the Pharisees and talking about how even though they have eyes, they just can’t see (ch. 20).  You can also see this in Chapter 16 – Response.  In the beginning of the chapter we see the Pharisees starting to get fed up with Jesus.  So they respond to Him by attempting to test / trick Him, but it fails.  Jesus responds to them in ways that blow them away so badly that they decide not to ever do that again.  So first we have the Pharisees’s response to Jesus, then His response towards them, then finally Jesus asks Peter for his response to who people say He is.  It’s all very beautiful the way it’s all laid out.  Each and every section / chapter seems to have its own theme, which in turn just makes it all the more fun, seeing / finding those common themes.

In all honesty, I’m definitely pretty glad that i made the jump to Matthew at this time, and I think that interspersing the NT books in with the OT books will continue, for the time being!  Well, that’s been my thoughts on Matthew, and I’m glad to share them.  I hope you get half as much out of my notes as i have by doing the project.

God bless, and onward to Numbers!   Woo Hoo!

Rev. John

Leave a comment

Filed under Application, Bible, Content, Gospels, Matthew, New Testament, Person, Project

Leave a Reply

